Concrete Products

FEB 2019

Concrete Products covers the issues that attract producers of ready mixed and manufactured concrete focusing on equipment and material technology, market development and management topics.

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 37 of 77

34 • February 2019 Federal Highway Administration Research and Technology Pro- gram's Jussara Tanesi, concrete materials engineer and lab manager, received the Katharine and Bryant Mather Member Contribution Award from ASTM International Committee C09 on Concrete and Concrete Aggregates. A Society member since 2005, she was recognized for contributions to the development of an ASTM test method for flex- ural strength of concrete as well as for the enhancement of cement and concrete technology standards. C09 also presented her Award of Appreciation in 2014. Tanesi has served in her current FHWA role since 2002, and was previously a consultant to the Portland Cement Association and the Brazilian Portland Cement Association, as well as a professor at Bandeirante University in Brazil. Separately, ASTM Committee C01 on Cement presented the Bryant Mather Award to Mark Niemuth, Ph.D. of Wiss, Janney, Elstner in Northbrook, Ill. A Society member since 2006, he was recognized for his role in promoting substantial revisions to an ASTM guide for approximating the ideal amount of sulfur trioxide in hydraulic cement. Niemuth has held his current position since 2016, having previously served as an associate technical sales representative, tech- nical services engineer, and senior product specialist with Lafarge North America. During its Leadership Institute last month in Las Vegas, the Associ- ated Builders & Contractors Board elected Tony Rader, Telecom vice president for National Roofing Partners, to serve as the 2019 national chair. Ray Zamora, president of AnchorBuilt Inc., was elected chair- elect, and Steve Klessig, Keller Inc. vice president of Architecture and Engineering, was elected secretary. "Strong leadership is indispensable to ABC's mission to develop people, win work and deliver that work safely, ethically and profitably in our communities across the United States," says ABC CEO Michael Bellaman. Kentucky Crushed Stone Association Executive Director Nick Rodgers, Arkansas Ready Mixed Concrete Association Executive Director Rita Madison and Georgia Construction Aggregate Association Executive Director Jeff Wansley have been elected 2019-2020 Aggregate and Concrete Executives (ACE) chairman, vice chairman and secretary/ treasurer, respectively. Joining them as ACE directors for the same term will be counterparts Peter Vlahos (immediate past chairman), Pennsylvania Aggregates and Concrete Association; Randy Olsen, Iowa Limestone Producers Association; Doug Needham, Michigan Aggre- gates Association; Alan Sparkman, Tennessee Concrete Association; Jay Stem, North Carolina Aggregates Association; Tom Evans, Mary- land Ready Mix Concrete Association; and, Todd Ohlheiser, Colorado Ready Mixed Concrete Association. BRIEFS ORGANIZATIONS The National Precast Concrete Association has appointed a search committee to identify candidates to succeed Ty Gable, who will retire as staff president effective December 31, 2019—capping a tenure that began in 1994. NPCA Chairman Mike Hoffman (Lindsay Precast) and six fellow committee members have begun their work ahead of an official April 1 position posting, and retained executive search expert Cynthia Mills of the Leaders' Haven to guide the effort. "NPCA has grown dramatically during Ty's quarter century as our president," says Hoffman. "He has overseen the growth of the plant certification program from a handful of companies to nearly 400 certi- fied plants. Our educational curriculum, the annual trade show, safety programs and all of NPCA's other resources have grown dramatically during his time as president." NPCA CHIEF SETS RETIREMENT TIMETABLE Ty Gable

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Concrete Products - FEB 2019